One thing

If I could recommend one gluten free snack, one item that will get you through your sweet cravings, one snack that is good enough to share with your friends and families, good enough to bring to the fourth of july picnic, the kids school, or the workroom at work, one snack that you will just LOVE, it would be Elena’s Chocolate Chip Scones (I highly recommend her cookbook. Every recipe I’ve tried has been great!)

I’ve categorized this recipe under both Breakfast and Desserts because you could talk yourself into these for breakfast – almond flour is full of protein, it’s pretty low on the sugar scale, you could put dried blueberries in instead of chocolate chips and say it has fruit in it:) Not saying you SHOULD say it’s breakfast, just saying you COULD! 😉

Here’s my version of her Chocolate Chip Scones. Thanks Elena.

This post is shared with: Real Food Wednesday and Fight Back Friday.

Puffy Chocolate Chip Cookies

Adapted from Elana’s Chocolate Chip Scones

Preheat oven to 350 F. Cover your cookie sheet with parchment paper.

2 3/4 cup almond flour (Pour the almond flour into the measuring cup, lightly tap the sides of the measuring cup with a butter knife to help the almond flour settle, level off with the back of a butter knife.)

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp baking soda

Mix dry ingredients together. Make a well in the dry ingredients. To the well add:

2 large eggs

scant 1/4 cup maple syrup (I like agave, which Elena recommends, in moderation. I’ve switched over to maple syrup for this recipe. Do what you feel is healthy.)

scant 1/3 cup butter melted (I bought the grapeseed oil that Elena recommends and didn’t see a need to use it after the bottle was empty. After that I used olive oil and was pleased with the results. I used butter here just to try it and enjoyed the cookies. Use whatever your dietary needs necessitate.)

1 Tablespoon of vanilla extract

Stir the wet and dry ingredients together. To this mixture gently add in

3/4 cup chocolate chips

1/2 cup shredded dehydrated coconut.

Mix. Scoop by heaping tablespoon- ful onto cookie sheet and bake for 10-15 minutes or until done.

Enjoy.

3 thoughts on “One thing

  1. Found you from Food Renegade – I’m “A Green Spell,” though looks like I’m signed into my other blog account right now. Anyway, these look so yummy! I’m bookmarking them for later!

  2. At 25 cookies it is 140 calories per cookie, 7.6 carbs. I really need to get my act in gear and post my new cookie recipe – it is based off the same recipe, but better! Check back next week for my new recipe!

Leave a comment