Canning

First, you get everything ready. You wach your peaches, peel, chop, whatever you need to do.

Not sure if you have enough cider vinegar to make a double batch? Measure it out. Make sure you have your mise en place done. It’s not just a great thing to do, it’s a necessity when you’re canning because you don’t want to miss something.

Don’t forget your easily accessible recipe book –

– and music!

Measure it all into the pot.

-And then work like crazy for 6 hours on Saturday and 8 hours on Sunday to get all this STUFF put by.

Is it worth it? I don’t know, I think so. I know it’s financially worth it, and E enjoyed playing by herself (this time!)

So, I’ll just say YES! It’s wonderful to have great food at my fingertips!

 

This weekends total comes in at

10 8 oz jars of Peach Conserve (a sweet treat that is going to be given away to others seeing how much sugar is in the recipe! We’re only getting it when company is over)

14 16 oz jars of Cinnamon and Spice quartered peaches. They were supposed to be pretty – the didn’t come out pretty, but they are yummy!

8 8 oz jars of Peach Salsa

25 8 oz jars Peach Bar-B-Q sauce (can you tell we like that!)

2 8oz and 3 4 oz containers of Peach Honey. Peach Honey is made with the skins of the peaches. I always – for the last 3 years I’ve been canning – threw away the skins of my peaches. In fact, I threw away 3/4 of the peach skins this weekend as I’ve been on a madddd peach canning kick. I thought that I would try a half batch though, to see if it would be worth it for me to do it. Oh, my. This stuff is amazing. Absolutely wonderful. Now I”m mourning all the peach peelings that I have thrown away. I could have quadrupled my output if I hadn’t been so stuck in my ways…

Leave a Reply

