This time

This photograph was taken at 9 pm last night – an hour and a half past her bedtime. Right now, I am looking back to last night – and the tears and the craziness of it – and I can’t help but smile. She is beautiful, wonderful, smart… and oh, so crazy right now.

“Mama, can you help me with my puzzle” turns into “No, mama – I said can *I* help me with my puzzle”

“Papa will you please bring me a glass of water” turns into “I WANT ICE WATER” (insert tantrum)

“Mama, I’m not hungry anymore. May I please have dessert?” in 2 hours turns into “Why didn’t you give me more potatoes when I asked for them?”

I am trying to remember that how I treat her now, how I deal with this crazy 4 year old will also translate into how she and I deal with each other when she is a teenager. I am trying to remember to respect her decisions while guiding her. It’s not easy, but it IS amazing. I wouldn’t give up one crazy, obnoxious moment.

I am her mother.

Leave a Reply

