Chocolate Coconut Flour Muffins

This muffin recipe has been cooling in my draft file for almost 3 months now. I started by searching for chocolate coconut flour muffins and found this great base recipe from Elena’s Pantry. It wasn’t exactly what I wanted so I played around with a couple other recipes and ingredients that I could add to chocolate (i.e. chocolate and coffee!) and came up with a recipe that I love!  I’ve made this recipe over and over again during that time and I still can’t believe that I *like* these muffins. No, really, I can eat like 5 of them if I let myself (not that I would do that….). The problem is the fact that I know that I do not like coconut baked goods. I really try to, but everything I make just tastes… off. Kinda sweet, but in a bitter aftertaste way. But not these. These just taste like cocoa and yummy, muffin-y goodness. I have made it with both applesauce and yogurt and like both ways. The nutrition facts are done with the applesauce.

I really suggest doing all baking using a scale, but recipes with coconut flour really do best when they are measured exactly. (I’ve had some comments about the measurements on this recipe. Like all my recipes, we are at high altitude (a mile high) so feel free to take out a Tbs or so of liquid. If you’re high altitude, it should be perfect!). However, I’ve made this recipe tons of time without using the scale – just make sure you sift your coconut flour into the measuring cup – don’t skip the sifting! This recipe will stick like crazy as they bake so make sure you use your muffin liners. At 92 calories, 6 g fat, 2 g protein, and 8 g carbs (1.6 fiber, 4.7 sugar) do you really want to stop at one?

Oh well. Everything in moderation.

Chocolate Coconut Flour Muffins: gluten free, grain free, refined sugar free, dairy free (don’t use yogurt!)

1/4 cup coconut flour sifted (32 g)
1/4 cup cocoa powder (11 g)
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp baking soda
3 eggs
1/4 cup oil (51g)
1/4 cup maple syrup (70g)
1/4 cup applesauce (65g) or yogurt (72 g)
1T vanilla
1/8 tsp via (or 1/4tsp instant coffee)

Mix well using electric mixer. Line and spray your muffin tins. Bake at 350 for 15-20 minutes or until done.

Shared with Fight Back Friday.

One thought on “Chocolate Coconut Flour Muffins

  1. Pingback: 10 awesome things not about my weight, and a weigh-in! | Jodi, fat or not

Leave a Reply

