Thoughts on the Simple Life 5

Do you suffer from “simple envy”?
“Oooh look at her – she makes her own cheese and soap.”
“And look at that one there! – she feeds her family of 6 for $50 a week!”
“ Wow! Look at his milking set up and that huge garden – I love it.”

I could never do that.


The truth is – you can! Well, maybe not that, but you can do something to further your own own simple life.

Every Thursday in the month of May I have provided encouragement to people trying to live a simple life – especially for people who have the added burden of trying to live simply while working out of the home (WOH). All of us face our own particular challenges, and I hope that everyone will be able to gain something from my thoughts.

Number 5: Maximize (don’t minimize!) Your Accomplishments

“The Journey Of A Thousand Miles Begins With A Single Step”Lao Tzu

All accomplishments start off with a single step. Sometimes the step is large (Honey, I just bought the farm in the country!) and sometimes the step is small (beginning to meal plan). Each step you take brings you one step further on the road to your ideal stage of simple living.

The words that you choose to express your accomplishments are as important as your accomplishments themselves. For example, when I first started cooking, I would mention that I just “threw something together”. While I liked the food that I made, I did not want to appear prideful – but the reality was that I didn’t feel that other people would find my accomplishment interesting. I have found over the last few years that when I say “I created and tested a new recipe for dinner last night” that people around me are more apt to be interested in my accomplishment – they want to hear more about my recipe and they enjoy hearing about both my flops and my triumphs.

And lastly, surround yourself with people who value you and will see your accomplishments for what they are: something that you have put your heart and soul into. Surround yourself with like-minded people and they will value the success that you have!

Challenge:

Choose one thing you have accomplished this month and tell at least 2 other people about it. Don’t be exceedingly boastful (!!!) but don’t belittle yourself. Congratulations for adding one more thing to your repertoire of successful simple living accomplishments!

******************************

I hope you have gained some positive information regarding simple living from this month long journey. Thank you for sharing this time with me. I look forward to sharing more “steps” on the simple living journey – and learning from all you wonderful people! – as time continues.

Thank you!

Do you want to read the whole series? Here’s your chance
1:Get started
2:Remove Temptation

3:Don’t Reinvent the Wheel
4:Simplify your life
5:Maximize your Accomplishments

