Thoughts on the Simple Life 4

Do you suffer from “simple envy”?
“Oooh look at her – she makes her own cheese and soap.”
“And look at that one there! – she feeds her family of 6 for $50 a week!”
“ Wow! Look at his milking set up and that huge garden – I love it.”

I could never do that.


I would be willing to bet that we have all looked in awe at someone else’s simple living/homesteading blog. It can be a bit alarming to think about how we would accomplish what they are currently doing. The most important thing we can do is to remember that we are all on a journey and we are just at different places on the road. I can choose to be grateful for the example and motivation that these wonderful people provide and then I can choose to go on and do the best that I can.

Over the next month (every Thursday in May) I will be providing encouragement to people trying to live a simple life – especially for people who have the added burden of trying to live simply while working out of the home (WOH). All of us face our own particular challenges, and I hope that everyone will be able to gain something from my thoughts.

Number 4: Simplify your life.

This is the one that should be the first on all our lists. We’re trying to live a simple life, right?! I think this is one of the hardest things to do. For a long time it was normal for me to stop  by the grocery store after work every night to pick up the ingredients I needed for dinner. Then I would run to pick my daughter up from school, hurry into the house to thrown something into the saute pan/grill/oven. Then I would try to actually do something with my daugher: play outside, dance, pick out a board game, etc.

I was busy.

One of the main ideals of living a simple life is to SIMPLIFY YOUR LIFE. What can you do to simplify your life? Many people fall into the consumeristic trap of “I have to have this” or “I have to do that“.

First and foremost, take a look at your schedule: are you driving to the grocery store every night like I was? Are you playing taxi and driving the kids to activities every night. Think about your everyday tasks. Are you baking bread or making crackers every week? Are you putting together a bottle of cleaning spray each week?

What changes can you make to your schedule? Can you make a double batch of bread or crackers? Are you organized enough to meal plan for an entire week and shop on one day only? And, hardest of all, can you instill in your children the necessity of a simple life and spend more time as a family  – and less time as a taxi driver!

Challenge:

What can YOU take away from your life? How can you focus on making your life simpler? Can you make something in larger quantities or do some work on the front end of a project to make your work easier (like installing drip irrigation in the garden)? How will you simplify your life?

Shared with Simple Lives Thursday.

Do you want to read the whole series? Here’s your chance
1:Get started
2:Remove Temptation

3:Don’t Reinvent the Wheel
4:Simplify your life
5:

6 thoughts on “Thoughts on the Simple Life 4

  1. Pingback: Thoughts on the Simple Life 3 | Living Gracefully

  2. Pingback: Thoughts on the Simple Life 2 | Living Gracefully

  3. Pingback: Thoughts on the Simple Life 1 | Living Gracefully

  4. Yes, that’s the trick. To figure out what you need to do and then to stop doing the rest. Perhaps designating a no-car day, or whatever it takes.

    But the most important thing is to think through what simplicity means for you.

    Great post. I’m visiting from Simple Lives.

    Annie Kate

  5. Pingback: Thoughts on the Simple Life 5 | Living Gracefully

  6. Hi, I am on the road of simplifying our lives and I have a long way to go, but that’s okay. I think after reading this post I need to do a bit more planning so more changes can be implemented!

Leave a Reply

