Thoughts on the Simple Life 2

Do you suffer from “simple envy”?
“Oooh look at her – she makes her own cheese and soap.”
“And look at that one there! – she feeds her family of 6 for $50 a week!”
“ Wow! Look at his milking set up and that huge garden – I love it.”

I could never do that.


The truth is – you can! Well, maybe not that, but you can do something to further your own own simple life.

Every Thursday in the month of May I will be providing encouragement to people trying to live a simple life – especially for people who have the added burden of trying to live simply while working out of the home (WOH). All of us face our own particular challenges, and I hope that everyone will be able to gain something from my thoughts.

Number 2: Remove Temptation

I have a confession to make. It is very embarrassing so I must request that you NOT laugh at me as I make it. Ok. Here goes.

I like fast food. No really. I do. I LOVE to eat steaming, hot french fries and a (terribly for you, but really yummy) spicy chicken sandwich. Oooh and what about fried chicken and biscuits. Yum. And did I mention the coffee…….

So now you know the depths of my deprivation. But just because I like fast food doesn’t mean that I let myself enjoy it. I know it’s bad for me: I know that my mood fluctuates drastically when I am eating these foods. It’s not worth it for me to indulge and then end up in a bad mood. However, I drive by at least 4 fast food places driving one way to work. I can’t remove the temptation by removing the restaurants (unfortunately). I have to do something else to remove the temptation.

I decided to take the jump: I left my debit card and my cash at home. Problem solved.

Challenge:

Think about one thing that tempts you to break your simple life. What can you do to remove that temptation? Now do it! Example: If you forget your lunch on a regular basis, you can pack 5 lunches on Sunday night and just pull one out each morning. Do you have other ideas? Add them!

Some common difficulties:

  • Forgetting to pack your lunch and having to stop by the store for food.
  • Getting up late and not having time to make your own breakfast.
  • Forgetting to soak the beans and having to use canned beans.
  • Forgetting to make a meal plan before you shop.
  • Not cleaning the kitchen and not feeling like cooking.
  • Eating Fast food.
  • Using traditional cleaners instead of homemade.
  • Watching TV.

What will you to do further your simple life this week?

Shared with Simple Lives Thursday.

Do you want to read the whole series? Here’s your chance
1:Get started
2:Remove Temptation

3:Don’t Reinvent the Wheel
4:Simplify your life
5:

