Thoughts on the Simple Life 1

Do you suffer from “simple envy”?
“Oooh look at her – she makes her own cheese and soap.”
“And look at that one there! – she feeds her family of 6 for $50 a week!”
“ Wow! Look at his milking set up and that huge garden – I love it.”

I could never do that.


I would be willing to bet that we have all looked in awe at someone else’s simple living/homesteading blog. It can be a bit alarming to think about how we would accomplish what they are currently doing. The most important thing we can do is to remember that we are all on a journey and we are just at different places on the road. I can choose to be grateful for the example and motivation that these wonderful people provide and then I can choose to go on and do the best that I can.

Over the next month (every Thursday in May) I will be providing encouragement to people trying to live a simple life – especially for people who have the added burden of trying to live simply while working out of the home (WOH). All of us face our own particular challenges, and I hope that everyone will be able to gain something from my thoughts.

Number 1: Get started

For our second Christmas together as a married couple my husband and I traveled to visit his family in Idaho. I stood in awe as Grandma’s house lit up with a variety of lights. I enjoyed all the little knickknacks and Christmas tins that Grandma had strategically placed throughout the house. When I praised her for their beauty and charm, she told me:

“I’ve spent a lifetime gathering all these items. I started with just one item. The whole picture comes with time.”

This same adage can be applied to the simple life. We start out with one action – and do it well – and then we continue on. Before we know it, we’re moving down the road, doing things we had never thought we’d be able to do!

Challenge:

Pick one thing…. And stick with it! Make an effort to do this ONE task for the entire month of May. What are you going to do to simplify your life? Some ideas (some of which I do, others are on my list!)

  • Meal plan
  • Set a strict budget
  • Plant/Keep a garden (even a pot!)
  • Soak and cook your own beans
  • Culture your own milk
  • Clean your house regularly
  • Organize your house
  • Start/Keep a family calendar
  • Make your own spa treatments
  • Make and use your own household cleaners
  • Research your local and/or federal politics
  • Read/Paint/Craft/Play more often
  • … add your own!

What will you do to further your simple living this week?

Shared with Simple Lives Thursday.

Do you want to read the whole series? Here’s your chance
1:Get started
2:Remove Temptation

3:Don’t Reinvent the Wheel
4:Simplify your life
5:

3 thoughts on “Thoughts on the Simple Life 1

  1. Love this post! What a great idea. I get so tired of people saying to me “where do you get the time?”. They don’t say it to learn how it do it, they say it like “good for you, but you must have a lot more time than me, because I have to feed my kids pop tarts and McDonalds because I have no time to do anything else.” They use it to justify to themselves that what they are doing is necessary because they have no choice. Nope I don’t have any more time than they do. I still have a full-time job, a husband who also does, kids to feed, homework to help with, soccer practice to go to, a house to keep, clothes to wash, as well as baking bread, making kombucha, home cooked meals with nothing out of a can or package raising chickens for eggs and meat, rabbits to feed, turkeys to get in the freezer, firewood to cut, a garden to water. I wonder what the heck they are doing with their spare time? It takes practice to fit it all in and make part of daily life, and we started with one thing, grinding flour and baking bread, and before we knew it it had grown to where we are. Hmm… do I have time to milk goats, I REALLY want dairy goats….

  2. Thanks for the reply. I love your blog (especially the post on seed starting – what a wonderful post – I love your setup!). You look like you are doing a wonderful job and are enjoying it! I think *that’s* the most important thing. I would love to have goats (one day) and that’s on the backburner to look into. This year my “one thing” is to get started on my garden.

  3. Pingback: Thoughts on the Simple Life 2 | Living Gracefully

Leave a Reply

