Oh no – the chest freezer has come unplugged!

And what do we do next?

Personally, I’m all for the idea of climbing back into bed and crying myself to sleep. Unfortunately, that is  not really an option. First you grab towels. Lots and lots of towels, to mop up the frozen ice that has thawed (into water). Then, you check and see what you can salvage. Throw the bagged fruit that is decidedly NOT frozen into the trash bag. Lard, saved. Beef fat, throw away. Soup bone: throw in a pan with some carrots, celery, onion, bay leaf, thyme: start stock. Finish thawing the turkey that is half thawed out and roast it with spices and 3/4 of a stick of butter. Freeze the bones and the broth created by the bird and all that butter to make a broth next week. Make some chocolate chip scones to snack on throughout the day.

 

Make asparagus soup. This is the time of the year for soup. And I LOVE rotisserie chicken so I always have stock in the fridge. My stock is so much better than the boxed stuff I get from Costco – but I always have that on hand too. Use whichever makes you happier.

  • 1 pound frozen and thawed by accident asparagus
  • 1 large onion, coarsely chopped
  • 3-4 large cloves garlic
  • 2 T butter
  • 1 quart or so chicken stock
  • salt and pepper
  • heavy, yummy cream
  • hard, aged cheese (I use pecorino romano), grated
  1. Melt the butter in a medium saucepan on low-medium heat. Throw onions in pan and let the cook very slowly – the goal is to almost caramelize them.
  2. While the  onion is getting soft, cut the tips off the asparagus and reserve them.
  3. Loosely chop the rest of the asparagus. Set aside.
  4. Check your onions, stir. Continue to let them cook, slowly. Once they are soft and a very light brown (or, in some cases, “Cajun style”!) add the garlic in and let the garlic soften a minute or two.
  5. Add in the stock, asparagus – minus tips, and a dash of salt and pepper. Let simmer 20 minutes or so.
  6. Your choice – use an immersion blender or a Vitamix/upright blender. I used my vitamix because I’m picky. I wasn’t looking forward to asparagus strings in my soup.
  7. Throw back in the saucepan and toss in the reserved tips.  Taste: do you need more salt and pepper? I needed a ton of both. Let tips soften for 2-5 minutes.
  8. Either add in cream now or pour soup into bowls and top with cream and cheese. I used about 1 T cream per bowl and 2-3 T cheese.

Relax the rest of the day and enjoy your yummy food!

 

 

Leave a Reply

