Halfway House Granola

Here’s a secret: One of the reasons I blog about food is so I don’t loose my recipes.

Shhhhh.

Everyone has their own idea of what makes food healthy. Some people say “No salt”, others are among the “No sugar, no refined sugar, no honey, no agave, no maple, nothing but fruit”. Some people live without meat, others live without grains. Who knows what is ACTUALLY right – or if there is even ONE RIGHT WAY OF EATING for everyone. All I know is what I personally believe.

And this granola does not hit the mark of healthfulness for me. The grains aren’t soaked, they aren’t raw, the nuts and seeds haven’t been soaked, it’s all been cooked at too high a temp for the olive oil that I used. It has too much sweetener it it – but for right now it hits the spot. It’s Sunday and I need a snack/breakfast/little bit of ease for the week. This makes my life a little easier – it’s my halfway house – between stopping by Starbucks and grabbing a donut and my soaked baked whole grain oatmeal.

  • 1 1/2 c flaked oats
  • 1 1/2 c nuts/seeds (I used 3/4 c chopped almonds, 2 T sesame seeds, 2 T flax seeds, 1/3 c sunflower seeds, 1/3 c shredded coconut)
  • 2 T olive oil poured into a 3/4 c measure and filled to a scant 3/4 c maple syrup
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 c chopped dried fruit

Heat oven to 350 and mix all ingredients except fruit together. Place on a cookie sheet covered with parchment and place in oven. Cook for 10-15 minutes stirring ever 3-5 minutes. Pull out, let cool, place in containers and enjoy.

Shared with Fight Back Friday.

Leave a Reply

