Easy Peasy

A gift that keeps on giving: a roasted chicken.

This was our second day on the roasted chicken. The day before, I shredded the leftover chicken intending to make chicken salad. I had some lovely juices in the bottom of my roasting pan that I poured over the chicken and placed it into the refrigerator. That morning was lovely – the type of day you do NOT want to stay inside. I decided to make a shepherds pie. I dumped the cold chicken with juices in the bottom of my loaf pan, covered it with frozen peas and corn and topped it with mashed potatoes. I covered it with foil, placed it in the refrigerator and went on my way spending the day playing mother and enjoying the lovely weather.

Come 4 in the afternoon, I pulled the casserole out, placed it in a 350 F oven and cooked it until it was 160 F.

Yum. And yummy leftovers ALL WEEK! Yay!

Shared with Real Food Wednesday and Fight Back Friday. Also posted at Pennywise Platter Thursday – one of my absolutely favorite blogs!

2 thoughts on “Easy Peasy

  1. What a great idea! Shepherd’s Pie is a favorite here…don’t know why I never thought of making it with chicken instead of beef, but I’ll sure give it a try. I’m always looking for new ways with roast chicken. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

