How to create a "healthy" recipe

What is my definition of “healthy”? What are my restrictions? What is the top of my list right now of things to change about mydiet? What am I willing to do without? Those are just some of the things I think about when I try to take a gluten free/casein free recipe and work it into a more “traditional foods” recipe.

Take my blondies that I wrote about in an earlier post. Here’s the original recipe – here’s what I ended up using. I happen to love sweet things. And I just found out about some sort of dairy intolerance through an elimination diet. And I also know that if I don’t have something sweet I will cheat on my diet. So I make brownies. I have a (great in my opinion) recipe for black bean brownies which I love – but I don’t feel decadent while eating them. So I took an old recipe that I love and switched it around. Here’s what I thought about while trying to figure out the recipe.

1. The first thing that popped out at me was the oil. “Hey, I can get coconut oil in there!”
2. I figured I could switch a starch – I switched potato starch for arrowroot. In my “healthy eating book” arrowroot is a better starch – I’m not all knowing so feel free to correct my assumption!
3. I did NOT want to attempt different sugars this time. Next time, I’m planning on on lowering the liquids and upping the agave nectar/honey. This time, it was important to me to have a sweet, yummy, gooey decadent treat. I was not willing to give that up.
4. My dietary restrictions were met – the recipe was already gluten/casein free. Yay.

Those are just some of my thoughts on the matter – feel free to share your own!
This is posted at Real Food Wednesday! Take a look!

Leave a Reply

