Fudgy Blondies

When my family first became gluten free, I LIVED for Karina. I lusted after her life and loved her more sweetly than any lover can love someone. Because when your life is turned upside down, you have no choice anymore. Karina gave me choice. Even better than that, Karina understood my life. Now, as my family is gluten AND dairy free, Karina is a lovely go to. These Fudgy blondies are not healthy. They have to much refined sugar (albeit BROWN sugar – I plan on trying these with different sugars, but I deviated so much from the original recipe, I didn’t want to try something new. Here’s the original recipe. Here’s my modifications taken mostly from the original recipe.

1 cup buckwheat flour
1/4 cup gf oat flour
1/2 cup arrowroot
1/4 cup tapioca
1 teaspoon xanthan gum
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 cup Coconut oil
1 1/2 cups organic light brown sugar
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
2 tablespoons raw agave nectar
5-6 tablespoons milk – I had almond so I used almond milk- as needed
1 egg

Add the wet ingredients into the dry mix and stir till well combined. If the dough is way too stiff, add one tablespoon of rice milk at a time to soften. Add a spoon at a time until the dough holds together- it should be sturdy and glossy.
To Make Vanilla Brownies: Plop the dough (recipe above) into a 9×13-inch baking pan lined with greased foil, and spread the dough evenly. Bake in the center of a preheated oven for 22 to 25 minutes, until the center is firm to the touch and a wooden pick inserted into the brownies emerges clean.Makes 18 generous brownies.

Leave a Reply

