Oh. My. Thank goodness it’s Friday. I have had the most interesting week. Days have been pretty OK, but nights have been interesting. E. has been waking up almost continuously. Ok. Not continuously. But 4-5 times a night. I don’t think there’s any reason to suspect teeth (not screaming, or in visible pain). We’re dealing with a whole different … something.

If I were to lay my guess down on the table, I think E’s beginning to realize her autonomy and is a little scared of it. Bum pats from papa and cuddles from mama make the world a whole lot less scary when you realize they are still there. Can you imagine waking up and realizing (big lightbulb here) that mama, source of all that is good and sweet and yummy and safe, is DIFFERENT from you? But you don’t know how. So the lightbulb fades away, not fully formed….

I’m hoping to remain a patient and gentle mama during this time for her, but I have to tell you it’s hard. (Whatever you do, don’t wake me in the middle of the night if you want me to be nice!) But so is anything worthwhile.

And let me tell you – this little babe is definitely worthwhile.

Leave a Reply

