E. has entered a wonderfully cranky stage. And for a while I was cursing it.

“Why, of why can’t you be the sweet, happy child of yesterday?” I would moan, trying to remain patient. As she screamed for the second hour strait in my arms and refused to nurse.

And suddenly, I had this epiphany. She is lying on the floor, curled into a ball of beautiful, sleeping, peaceful, E’ness. And my heart melted. THIS is what this time is for. To revel in the beauty of the small things. To remember.

I remember. I see. I love.

I love you my sweet E.

Love,
Mama

Leave a Reply

